Meet the Interns

This is the first of a five-part series where we will introduce and tell you a little bit about Woman Made Gallery’s interns.

First up, Melanie Demos, WMG’s Artisan Gallery Intern:

“I grew up in the northwest suburbs around Chicago and love the city! After high school I went to the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and studied Anthropology with a minor in Art History. I worked at a museum on campus during my junior and senior year and had a great four years there. I recently graduated in May and luckily found my way over to Woman Made Gallery. There are some really exciting developments we are working on that I can’t wait for everyone to experience! I also intern at the Art Institute of Chicago in their photography collections and hope one day to get my masters in arts administration.”

Melanie

MELANIE IN FIVE QUESTIONS

Why did you want to intern at Woman Made?

After taking a class on Women in the Visual Arts in college, my attraction to feminist art and female perspective in the arts was sparked! Woman Made is a safe place for female artists to show their work and acts as a launch pad for discussion on feminist issues, as well as being a place to enjoy great art.

Five things that you love:

My dog Humphrey

Bacon

Busting a move

Anything creative

Beyonce

Five things that annoy you to no end:

Intolerance

Negativity

Morning alarms

Cold French fries

Waiting for the next season of Game of Thrones

What do you focus on in your internship? 

I really focus on learning as much as I can from those around me because Woman Made seems to attract the best kinds of people. I always make sure to try new things because it is a great environment to explore and grow. I have really grown attached to it!

Melanie on the web: https://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=102262477&trk=nav_responsive_tab_profile